New Year, New Songs!

Last night was the first Snug Ukulele Group meetup of 2015 and it was a fun one! I hope everybody had a great Christmas and New Year, and that their New Years Resolutions are going well!

First please allow me to apologise for the wrong chord and chord chart in Valerie, I’ll bring updated and correct copies of that to the next meetup (and thanks to Sara for showing me the right chord when my addled brain couldn’t figure it out). If you want to download a correct copy of Valerie, it’s in the 2015 songbook which can be found on the Songs page.

Talking about The Songs page, I’ve updated it, with the 2015 songbook (which just contains the songs from the January meetup for now), Carnforth Station Blues, and the 2014 songbook is still there to download, but I’ve also added links in the list of the songs in our songbooks to YouTube videos of the songs in case people are unfamiliar with any songs. I can’t guarantee they are in the same key as the versions in the songbooks, but it will help if you don’t know the structure of the song.

Back to last night, the songs were:

  • Abracadabra – The Steve Miller Band
  • Alright – Supergrass
  • Valerie – The Zutons/Amy Winehouse
  • Somewhere Over The Rainbow/What A Wonderful World – Israel Kamakawiwo’ole

Somewhere Over The Rainbow/What A Wonderful World *does* have a lot of chord changes, and it’s definitely the hardest song I’ve brought to the group since we started, but I think that with enough practice we can do it, it’s definitely within the group’s skill level! We’re good enough! It’s a long term goal, and not one that I expected us to nail in one go, but will need practice! Think of it as homework 😉

The next meetup will be Monday the 9th of February at 6.30pm, and I’m already working on songs for it! I’ll set up a Facebook event page as soon as I have done so!

So, what do you think?

