July Meetup, New Song for November and Reminder about Lancaster Ukulele Malarkey

Hey Gang! It was another quiet one on Monday, but with the combination of it being summer, and a rainy evening, and along with people having prior commitments, that’s understandable, and a fun night was still had by all.

Things we learned on Monday:

  • Marble Summer is a delicious beer and I got the last half, sorry
  • We can make a heck of a noise even when there’s only 10 of us or so
  • We’re getting good at finishing at the same time!

In the list of songs for November we currently have Ben E. King’s Stand By Me, which was probably the one we sounded the most ropey on, I think I tend to sing it a bit different to others because that’s been a song I have played for years now, and I have developed my own style of it, and for that I’m sorry, feel free to tell me off, it’s probably off putting for  you all.

However, a new song for Monday was Bring Me Sunshine, which I have listed in the songbook as “Various Artists” because for me the definitive version is kind of Morecambe and Wise, but it wasn’t them singing it (was it? I’m not sure) but so many performers have sung it, I just put various artists. Anyway, this felt like a great song to add to the list of songs for November, and feels like a good set closer, a singalong everybody knows, and with local connections, what with Morecambe only being down the road!

Also, I forgot to put G7 into the chord chart for Bring Me Sunshine, I’ve fixed that now, so if you want to download it and print it off, click here.

On the topic of fixing songs, I have posted a new updated songbook to The Songs page. I’ve fixed typos and missing chords (typos such as in Folsom Prison Blues “don’t ever lay with guns” now reads “don’t ever play with guns”, neither are safe… though), and I have also changed the format of the table of contents page, which now just features songs and page number, not the month in which we did it. I’m doing it like this because between now and November, it’s been agreed we should concentrate on the existing songs in the songbook, so I’m probably only going to bring one new song to each meetup between now and then, and focus on getting us sounding awesome.

Next month I’ll be bringing Michael Dillon’s take on Folsom Prison Blues, entitled “Carnforth Station Blues” and probably another brand new song.

So, songs for November are now looking like

  • Rockin’ All Over The World
  • Whiskey In The Jar
  • Stand By Me
  • Teenage Kicks
  • What Shall We Do With The Drunken Sailor
  • I Have A Dream
  • Female Badger
  • Sloop John B
  • Folsom Prison Blues
  • Bring Me Sunshine

In the meantime, keep strumming at home! Hopefully I’ll see a few of you at the Lancaster Ukulele Malarkey on Saturday, I know that Michael and myself will be doing a turn on the open mic so it’ll be great if there are some familiar faces about!

As a final reminder, the next meetup will be on the 11th of August, so I’ll see you all then!

Kris

So, what do you think?

